The purpose of this Drafting Committee is to draft legislation on Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation, or “SLAPP” suits. The committee will address the breadth of the act, limitations, if any, to be imposed after a motion to strike is made; the standard of review relating to the motion to strike; appeal rights from the grant or denial of a motion to strike; and whether the court should award attorney's fees and costs. Ideally, the legislation will serve the dual purposes of protecting individuals’ rights to petition, associate, and speak freely on issues of public interest while, at the same time, protecting the rights of people and entities to file meritorious lawsuits for real injuries.

Committee Members

Lane Shetterly Chair
Jerry L. Bassett Member
James Bopp Member
Effie V. Bean Cozart Member
Elena J. Duarte Member
Leon M. McCorkle Member
William J. Quinlan Member
V. Lowry Snow Member
D. Joe Willis Member
Candace Zierdt Division B Chair Member
Robert T. Sherwin Reporter
Laura Lee Prather ABA Advisor
Jay David Adkisson ABA Section Advisor
Kaitlin D. Wolff Staff Liaison